Just watched the Manure highlights on motd. Female pundit said definitely a penalty because the shirt pull continued into the penalty area. Both her and the referee should look at the laws of the game. The initial shirt pull and foul started outside the box so should be a free kick. It’s like saying a player was fouled outside the area initially but, as he actually fell in the penalty area, a penalty should be awarded!!
No, they're spot on, the rule for shirt pulling is that it's a penalty if it carries on into the box.
In truth, you are perfectly correct. However, in the spirit of the game, this should be changed as, it is ridiculous that the first foul is committed outside the box but, the player then throws himself into the box to get a penalty. In my opinion, that player should also be booked for unsportsmanlike behaviour.