collapse

Please donate to help keep this site going.

* The Fanzine

Heroes & Villains Fanzine



Get your fix of all things Claret & Blue by subscribing to the online version!

Author Topic: AVFC Lions Clubs  (Read 2440 times)

Offline Villa75

  • youth team
  • *
  • Posts: 481
AVFC Lions Clubs
« on: October 07, 2017, 02:35:09 PM »
Can anyone provide me with a list of Lions Clubs in the East Midlands/Lincolnshire area, please?

I have tried Google, the Villa website, and the search facility on here, but to no avail.

Thanks in advance 👍

Offline Legion

  • Moderator
  • prolific poster
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 46082
  • Age: 46
  • Location: 46 going on 33
  • Oh, it must be! And it is! Villa in the lead!
    • Our FB Page
  • GM : 07.11.2015
Re: AVFC Lions Clubs
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2017, 05:55:37 PM »
Alcester Branch   Ray Hodgetts rmysterium@aol.com   01789 765 142

Belfast Villans   Craig Smith   belfastvillans@hotmail.com 02890 645081

Bournemouth Lions Mike McKenna   mike.mckenna@cmuk.org 01202 493750

Dorset Villans Ian Haslam   01305 766 534

East Midlands & Yorkshire Alex Males amales63@yahoo.co.uk 01332 780 896

AVSC Eastern Counties Steve McGrath   oztour@hotmail.com 01493 440 328

AVSC Gloucestershire John Holder broadhill3@blueyonder.co.uk 01242 519 692

Aston Villa Jubilee Club   Geoff Tabberner 0121 321 3558

AVSC Leamington & Warwick Martin Compton martincompton@talktalk.net 01926 428 539

London Lions Sam Cleary   sammichaelcleary@yahoo.co.uk 0784 1123 809

Medda Villans (Black Country) Greg Crofts gregory_crofts@sandwell.gov.uk   07876 476 241

AVSC North Devon   Anthony Williams akthwilliams@btopenworld.com 01237 425 786

North West Villa   John Morris   john@northwestvilla.com   07971 065 081

AVSC Scotland Matthew Lingard   matthew.lingard@blueyonder.co.uk 1506 494 509

South Coast Villa Simon Heal simon_heal@hotmail.com 01323 492336

South Wales Villans Chris Smith   chrissmith921@gmail.com 07817 207 638

AVSC Studley & Redditch Gordon Nicoll avscstudleyandredditch@blueyonder.co.uk 01527 458347

AVSC Sutton Coldfield   Mark Goodwin mark.goodwin@webasto.co.uk 0121 308 8222

Swindon & Wiltshire Max Wall max.wall313@btinternet.com 07817 324257

Worcestershire Villans   Daniel Jones 01905 350 691

Oxfordshire Lions Club   Neil O'Donaghue Nkvilla@aol.com   

Bromsgrove Lions Club Mike Colley villa_colley@hotmail.com   

North East Lions Club Gary Gleeson 7908739773

Somerset Lions Club Glyn Hurst chairman@somersetlions.co.uk 07796956039

Devon Lions Club   Nigel Call   membership@southwestvilla.com 07769655311

Villans Across The Globe:

Algerian Villans   Tarek Cherrou   algerian_villans@yahoo.fr (00) 213 72313075

Athlone Villans   Ronnie Byrne   ronnie@puntee.ie 0035 3862 988 186

AVSC Belgium Tom Gillis   gillistom@skynet.be 32495582886

AVSC Cape Town Chris Penn   chrisjen@mweb.co.za + 27 - (0)28 - 5721146

Chicago Villans Scott Barsky   bigstar51@yahoo.com 001 773 588 6267

AVSC Cyprus Andreas Georgiou fotioug@avacom.net 00 35799 4594 77

AVSC Denmark Michael Bundgaard Nielsen   mbn@avfc.dk +45 4068 9117

German Villans Dirk Unschuld dirk@germanvillans.de 0049 2641 916529

The Hellenic Villans   Moschogiannakis Chrysostomos thehellenicvillans@yahoo.com 003 069 470 73959

Irish Villans Dave O'Rourke irishvillans@hotmail.com 00353 (0) 861009904

Irish Midlands Villans Mandy Delaney mandydelaney05@eircom.net 00353 (0) 469772352

AVSC Johannesburg Reza Bodiat ubreza@global.co.za +27 82 492 8348

New Zealand Lions Dave Tebbet   littletebbet@hotmail.com 211025503

The New York Villans Steven Lanham   steven.lanham@verizon.net (001) 718 218 7492

AVSC Norway Espen Skotterud Espen.skotterud@c2i.net +47 46 66 90 40 Thor Skjelstad thor@villans.no   004798845533

AVSC Norway Ingolf Olsen   ingolf.olsen@chello.no

AVSC South-East Queensland Mel Strong   mel.strong@optusnet.com.au 0061 7 5446 5696

AVSC Sweden Hans Fagerlin fagerlin@villasweden.com 00 46 (0) 311 941 5

AVSC Sweden Stefan Johansson bigsteffe@villasweden.com 00 46 (0) 853 170 044

AVSC Northern Sweden Damian Dugdale damian@worldcup2010southafrica.com   00 46 (0) 768 068 197

The Aussie Villans David Willis shirdi@villansworldwide.net 0061 403 999333

The Peruvian Villans Fabian Guerrero Medina   peruvianvillans@hotmail.com

Tipperary Villans Sean Ward   srward@eircom.net 00 353 87 9372292

Vancouver Villa   Chris Searles   vancouvervilla@hotmail.co.uk (001) 6048764274

Villans on Ice Arnie Einarsson 00 3546597676

Villans Worldwide David Willis   shirdi@villansworldwide.net 0061403 999333

Latin Lions Club   Stefano Armellini latinlions@gmail.com

Barcelona Lions Club   Kieran Donaghy kieran.donaghy@uab.es

Dutch Lions Club   Simon Robb   robb7@xs4all.nl   (00)31622475198

Shanghai Lions Club Lu Yang   ylfootballclub@yahoo.com.cn   

Singapore Lions Club Mark Ho myvillaboys@yahoo.com.sg (00)16594525305

Offline Villa75

  • youth team
  • *
  • Posts: 481
Re: AVFC Lions Clubs
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2017, 06:29:10 PM »
Brilliant

Many thanks, Legion. 👍

Offline exigo

  • first team
  • *
  • Posts: 1753
Re: AVFC Lions Clubs
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2017, 06:34:13 PM »
The London one is years out of date.

Offline Legion

  • Moderator
  • prolific poster
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 46082
  • Age: 46
  • Location: 46 going on 33
  • Oh, it must be! And it is! Villa in the lead!
    • Our FB Page
  • GM : 07.11.2015
Re: AVFC Lions Clubs
« Reply #4 on: October 07, 2017, 06:35:56 PM »
Most of them are. It's all I could find.

Offline exigo

  • first team
  • *
  • Posts: 1753
Re: AVFC Lions Clubs
« Reply #5 on: October 07, 2017, 06:41:25 PM »
You could email Lee Preece he's the Ops Manager for the Lions Clubs, and will be able to point you in the right direction.

Without putting his details in view of any spambots, it's Firstname dot surname at avfc dot co dot uk.

Offline Villa75

  • youth team
  • *
  • Posts: 481
Re: AVFC Lions Clubs
« Reply #6 on: October 07, 2017, 08:13:42 PM »
Thanks exigo. I'll give that a go.

Surprised there was nothing on the official site. I think it's being updated, though not sure how long that has been the case.

Offline TheMalandro

  • coach
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 9271
  • GM : 06.03.2016
Re: AVFC Lions Clubs
« Reply #7 on: October 07, 2017, 08:18:10 PM »
Poor old Andy Cudworth, Yorkshire missing.

Offline Kingthing

  • international
  • *
  • Posts: 2667
  • Location: kingston (not Jamaica)
Re: AVFC Lions Clubs
« Reply #8 on: October 08, 2017, 12:11:59 PM »
The website details are well out of date, they're trying to get a new system sorted but blah blah blah.

Offline wittonwarrior

  • first team
  • *
  • Posts: 1838
  • Location: County Bootle
Re: AVFC Lions Clubs
« Reply #9 on: October 08, 2017, 03:22:05 PM »
Without knowing for sure, I would think that a lot of the UK distance  Lions Clubs are suffering not only from the relegation directly but from the lack of 3pm kick offs.

Shame that London being such a large city/area cannot organise travel on a  weekly basis but I suppose people have much more choice as to time off activities  as well as the expense of modern day football.

Offline Kingthing

  • international
  • *
  • Posts: 2667
  • Location: kingston (not Jamaica)
Re: AVFC Lions Clubs
« Reply #10 on: October 08, 2017, 09:20:12 PM »
Without knowing for sure, I would think that a lot of the UK distance  Lions Clubs are suffering not only from the relegation directly but from the lack of 3pm kick offs.

Shame that London being such a large city/area cannot organise travel on a  weekly basis but I suppose people have much more choice as to time off activities  as well as the expense of modern day football.

When we started the new London Lions we were told there were 10,000 exiled Villa fans down here for the taking, "build it and they will come" we were told. We've built it but despite, between, the four of us (North, East, South and West London) having over 500 members there's only enough interest to get 2/3 coaches a season. We have (almost) our own bar in Elephant and Castle and the London Lions Football Team doing the rounds. We're spreading the love but people have other priorities.   

Offline dave.woodhall

  • Moderator
  • prolific poster
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 48391
  • Location: Treading water in a sea of retarded sexuality and bad poetry.
  • GM : 01.01.2015
Re: AVFC Lions Clubs
« Reply #11 on: October 08, 2017, 09:39:24 PM »
Without knowing for sure, I would think that a lot of the UK distance  Lions Clubs are suffering not only from the relegation directly but from the lack of 3pm kick offs.

Shame that London being such a large city/area cannot organise travel on a  weekly basis but I suppose people have much more choice as to time off activities  as well as the expense of modern day football.

When we started the new London Lions we were told there were 10,000 exiled Villa fans down here for the taking, "build it and they will come" we were told. We've built it but despite, between, the four of us (North, East, South and West London) having over 500 members there's only enough interest to get 2/3 coaches a season. We have (almost) our own bar in Elephant and Castle and the London Lions Football Team doing the rounds. We're spreading the love but people have other priorities.   

I would guess as well that it's as cheap to get here on your own as with anything organised. I think it was Ian Shearer who said that what killed off the original London Lions more than anything was the M40, which meant that anyone sahf of the river could drive here without having to go through the middle of London.
« Last Edit: October 08, 2017, 09:43:46 PM by dave.woodhall »

Offline wittonwarrior

  • first team
  • *
  • Posts: 1838
  • Location: County Bootle
Re: AVFC Lions Clubs
« Reply #12 on: October 08, 2017, 10:03:27 PM »
People are right in that there is a much better road structure (until you reach J6a) but seeing so many Villa on trains travelling back to Crewe and Manchester still makes me think someone needs to take the bull by the horns or in our case the Lion by his mane. 

If villa fans in Preston/Newton Le  Willows/ Dorset- Bournemouth can organise regular travel, then there must be scope from the bigger cities.


Offline dave.woodhall

  • Moderator
  • prolific poster
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 48391
  • Location: Treading water in a sea of retarded sexuality and bad poetry.
  • GM : 01.01.2015
Re: AVFC Lions Clubs
« Reply #13 on: October 08, 2017, 10:13:27 PM »
People are right in that there is a much better road structure (until you reach J6a) but seeing so many Villa on trains travelling back to Crewe and Manchester still makes me think someone needs to take the bull by the horns or in our case the Lion by his mane. 

If villa fans in Preston/Newton Le  Willows/ Dorset- Bournemouth can organise regular travel, then there must be scope from the bigger cities.



Most Saturdays you can get the train from London to Birmingham for 11. Where's the attraction in organised travel there?

Offline adrenachrome

  • player manager
  • *
  • Posts: 11595
  • Location: The Foundry
Re: AVFC Lions Clubs
« Reply #14 on: October 08, 2017, 10:39:46 PM »
People are right in that there is a much better road structure (until you reach J6a) but seeing so many Villa on trains travelling back to Crewe and Manchester still makes me think someone needs to take the bull by the horns or in our case the Lion by his mane. 

If villa fans in Preston/Newton Le  Willows/ Dorset- Bournemouth can organise regular travel, then there must be scope from the bigger cities.



Most Saturdays you can get the train from London to Birmingham for 11. Where's the attraction in organised travel there?

When I used to travel up from Brighton, both the direct train through Oxford and the service from Euston had a very healthy contingent of Villa fans.