Off Topic > Sports Arena

The Running thread

(1/222) > >>

DBTW:
No, it's not a thread that can run, it's for anyone who runs or is interested in running / jogging at any level.

I'll start.....

I've been running now for about 3 years, 2009 being my biggest year to date. Last year I completed two marathons (London and Dublin) and 7 half marathons with a few 10 milers and 10k's in as well.

At present i'm laid up with achilles tendonitis, but I have entered three events this year so far.

1/. Tough Guy - Nettle Warrior - 25/07/10
2/. Bupa Great North Run - 19/09/10
3/. Muller 10k - 09/05/10

I am also planning to enter the Birmingham Black Country Half marathon, as well as 7 or 8 more.

My marathon plans are restricted due to my wife due to give birth 3 days after the cup final (pretty selfish timing on her part) but i'm looking at Pisa or Florence later on in the year.

Anyone else do any running...........

BrummieInKiwiLand:
Good idea for a thread. I'm just getting started with regular running. Unlucky about the tnedonitis. How long will you be out of action?

I'd say I've been "training" properly since the week before christmas now (3-4 runs a week, following a free-be training program I downloaded from the net). I felt like an old man to start with, but within about 2 weeks I really got into it. Makes a massive difference to how much energy I have, and I never fail to feel better after a run. Except...